MONASTERY CHURCH COTTBUS
As the name tells, the monastery church is the remainder of a former Franciscan monastery from the 13th/14th century. This is reflected mostly in the Gothic inner vaults of the church. This is the oldest witness of the town history of Cottbus: a grave slab showing the town's founder Fredehelm von Cottbus and his wife Adelheid. The town founder's chest is decorated with his family coat of arms, the crayfish. His sword is also decorated with a crayfish, now the design on the town's coat of arms.
PARK & CASTLE BAD MUSKAU
The Muskau park combines outstanding nature and art: large meadows, majestic trees, curved paths, picturesque lakes and rivers, unique bridges and buildings. The park based on the English example covers 830 hectare on both sides of the river Neiße. This paradise can be explored on foot, by coach, bike or boat. What seems to be naturally grown is a landscape that was created by a strict hand – a piece of garden art by Hermann Fürst von Pückler-Muskau. The gentleman designed his landscape park between 1815 and 1845. in 2004, the park was declared a UNESCO world heritage. Restoration of the castle ruin was completed in 2008. It how hoses the exhibition "Pückler! Pückler? Einfach nicht zu fassen!“ to teach visitors about the work of Prince von Pückler-Muskau. Two tower domes crown the castle. From the South-West tower, visitors can enjoy the wide view of the park from a height of 35 metres. The Baroque building was changed by Pückler's successors in the Neo-Renaissance style and changed several times.
HOLLÄNDERWIND- & ÖLMÜHLE STRAUPITZ
Europe's last wind mill with three producing mills under a single roof: Grinding mill - oil mill - sawmill! Grain is milled, linseed oil pressed and wood sawed here like it was 100 years ago. Rapeseed and linseed oil was pressed here until 1974, before the mill was left to decay. The nearly extinct craft was reconstructed and revived in 1994/95. Since then, it has been a producing monument, and the only originally retained oil mill in the state of Brandenburg
PHARMACEUTICAL MUSEUM COTTBUS
Opened as the "Niederlausitzer Apothekenmuseum" on 1 June 1989. It was called "Niederlausitzer" because the museum originally was to have only regional importance, as well as because nearly all exhibits were from pharmacies of the Niederlausitz. Over the course of a decade and more, however, the collection and catchment area expanded until the museum had to be renamed by the members' assembly in May 2002.
It has since been named: Brandenburgisches Apothekenmuseum in Cottbus.
SLAVIC CASTLE RADDUSCH
The Slavic castle Raddusch is a castle facility of the Slavic tribe of the Lusiz, which was built here more than 1000 years ago. Today, it is a modern functional building with an exhibition area, event rooms, gastronomy and a castle shop. The castle yard offers space for concerts, theatre, children's events and more on 1000 m². Call ahead for an expert tour. The Slavic castle Raddusch in the Spreewald holds an archaeology exhibition in the Niederlausitz
OPEN-AIR MUSEUM LEHDE
Visit the Spreewald museum in the village Lehde with its three Old-Wendish farms from around the Spreewald area. It has the oldest boat builder, dating to 1884, a historic exhibition of traditional dress, an art gallery and pottery, as well as a blue print workshop, farm garden, healing herbs and dying plants. In our open-air facility in Lehde, you can visit three complete Old-Wendish farms from the Spreewald. The individual buildings provide interesting information about the living situation and manner of the Spreewald people, their dress, plants and animals and typical crafts. We have the oldest boat builder of the Lehde village.
Experience and enjoy the chocolate side of the Lausitz! The chocolatiers will seduce you with finest, fresh chocolates, individually designed cards and many figures and bars. About 20 years ago, we returned to Europe after four and a half years of development aid in Nigeria. What happens when two Belgians discover the Brandenburg Lausitz? The chocolate side of the Lausitz is quickly produced in idyllic Hornow – The Confiserie Felicitas. The Schokoladenland opened a new building in October 2014, where guests can watch the production of Belgian chocolate in a show workshop. They can shop in the new sales room or enjoy special treats in the café. Furthermore, there are two new rooms available for classes, films or meetings.
History of Burg and local dishes. We present an entertaining and interesting movie lecture from long-ago times and the recent past of our home area.
GURKENMUSEUM DER DOLZKE-INSEL LEHDE
The unique cucumber museum of Germany tells many interesting stories about the tradition of cucumber farming and processing. You will be able to try out the spicy pickles "Spreewälder Gurken". The "Königsgurken" are a particular speciality.
SCHINKEL CHURCH IN STRAUPITZ
The Straupitz church stands out by its architecture rather than its size. It goes back to builder Karl Friedrich Schinkel (1781 - 1841), who was the most famous builder and architect in Prussia, and probably anywhere in Germany, in the first half of the 19th century. Schinkel was friends with the builder's brother - Ernst von Houwald, a poet who was quite popular at the time. This is how Schinkel and Straupitz first became connected. In 1828 to 1832, a new church was built according to Schinkel's plans.
Here on the ground of the Spreewald station in Burg, where for many years the train runs from table to table another attraction arise. Since 2014 a new construction with his elegant clinker facade host a historical passage “Alte Ladenstraße” with 17 old shops around the turn of century to visit and stay. In the meanwhile the smell of fresh brewed coffee and fresh baked cakes invites you to have a look at the “Reclamecafé” which is created in the style of the 20s. No matter if you visit the “Alte Ladenstraße” or the “Reclamecafé here you can experience fascination for the senses in a unique atmosphere, unique in perfection and detail.
In the Trachtenstickerei Dziumbla in the Wendenkönigstraße in Burg, you can learn how traditional dress is made and how it is put on, e.g., the number of needles. An exhibition shows old and new traditional dress. Parts of tradition dress, embroidered pictures and bands, Spreewald dolls and more are offered for sale.
STATE THEATER COTTBUS
The state theatre Cottbus is the only state theatre in Brandenburg. The four-section theatre offers shows with dedicated ensembles for plays, musical theatre (opera, operetta, musical), orchestra and ballet in Cottbus. The Cottbus theatre was built on the citizens' request. Bernhard Sehring was awarded the theatre's construction in 1905. In 1896, he had already acquired great attention and caused a lively discussion with his theatre building "Theater des Westens“ in Berlin. The theatre construction in Cottbus - a secessionist art nouveau building - is Sehring's most mature architectural achievement. It was opened on 1 October 1908 with Lessing's play Minna von Barnhelm. From 1912 onwards, the theatre had its own orchestra and a fixed opera ensemble.
BURGER HOFBRENNEREI – ARNO BALLASCHK
This small family-owned operation produces very special spirits and liquors... The fine brandies and liqueurs are named after characters from Sorbic/Wendish legend. A tour will not only explain vividly about the production process, but also introduce you to the fascinating world of the Spreewald legends' ghosts.
A small but interesting exhibition is housed in this reed-thatched block house typical for the Spreewald. It provides interesting looks into the historic and legendary castle, e.g. its ancient and church history, household management and farming, as well as traditional Sorbic/Wendish dress. Changing exhibitions paint a picture of the former and current life in Burg.
WENDISH MUSEUM COTTBUS
The Wendish museum is opened in a completely restored citizen's house with Classicist decorative elements near the old market in 1994. The permanent exhibition provides insights into the culture and history of the Sorbs/Wens of the Niederlausitz. In 16 exhibition rooms, many exhibits on traditional dress, writing and literature, art and music, as well as traditions and lifestyle document the unique culture of the local Slavic population here.
FARMERS' MUSEUM SCHLEPZIG
Idyllically located at the core of the Unterspreewald, the Spreewald village Schlepzig has lots to offer to its many guests and visitors. The most-frequently visited sights of the Spreewald village include the farmers' museum, which is dedicated to presentation of the historically grown interaction between man and nature in the Spreewald. On an area of about 5000 m², an interesting insight into the life and work of the Spreewald farmers of the last century is provided. The completely restored farm with an attachment for the farmer's parents (built in 1818) will make you feel as if you had moved back in time by 100 years. The property once belonged to the village mayor. He received the farm and 30 hectare land as well as 70 hectare forest from Prussian King Frederick William III. (1770 - 1840) as a field in 1818. In 1960, the old farm was placed under monument protection. It has been open to the public as a museum since 1985.
The “Kleinod” in Burg (Spreewald) is a convenience store with local products and traditional crafts. A jewel right in the heart of Burg. A treasure of our hotel is the “Lutki”, a mythical figure of the “Spreewald”which we make in cooperation with the life workshops. The little creatures with their red caps provide a picture of peaceful coexistence with the sorbs.
ÖLMÜHLE GERD BALLASCHK
The history of linseed oil goes back far into the 18th century. Traditionally, valuable oil was pressed from ripe linseed even back then. The Burg family-owned company Gerd Ballaschk has held on to this tradition for years.
Get to know our small manufacture in the weavers' town of Forst/ Lausitz. On historic machines and hand looks, we continue the craft and tradition of former Royal Prussian court supplier Theodor Wagler. Our production goes from lace to tassels to tiebacks and furniture cord, to theatre fringes and many others.
In Burg-Kolonie, there is the restored stable building from 1760, bearing witness of the work and lifestyle of its day. Today, artists and craftsmen develop and sell their creations here.
Fürst-Pückler-Park & Castle Branitz
The landscaping jewel is included in the UNESCO list of the world's protected natural monuments. The approximately 96 -hectare park was created from 1846 to 1871 by Prince Hermann von Pückler-Muskau and completed by the garden director Bleyer until 1888th.
Unique in Europe are located in the western part of the park pyramids. The lake pyramid, the tumulus, is the burial place of Pückler and his wife Lucie. In the center of the complex is the Castle which was built in 1770-72. It accommodates the Fürst-Pückler museum with historical dwellings and an exhibition on the life and work of Prince Pückler and the Cottbus collection of paintings of Carl Blechen. On the opposite lie the stables with showrooms and the cavalier house, where a restaurant is located.
MUSEUM SCHLOSS LÜBBEN
The Lübben castle can look back on a changing, partially tragic, partially heroic history. An early castle facility has become a Renaissance style castle today. Since 2001, it has housed the town and regional museum. The town and regional museum Lübben dedicates its offers specifically to the history of the town of Lübben, the old district of Lübben and the Niederlausitz, the capital city of which Lübben was from the 16th century until 1815. The castle tower holds the Lübben "marriage room", the coat of arms hall and the castle restaurant.
MUSEUM VILLAGE GLASHÜTTE
Glass has been produced here since 1716. Today, glass makers, glass blowers, artisans, traders, innkeepers and artists are living in Glashütte. Activities for the entire family - right at the centre of the forested Baruth spring valley.
museum of local history
The museum of local history is located in the former school building, built in 1899 in direct proximity of the village church. Starting out with humble collections a decade and a half ago, the exhibition now has far exceeded the history of the Sorbic/Wendish village. The museum presents the former life of the Sorbs/Wends, life on a farm, the hard work in the fields, the stables, as well as of festivals, celebrations and traditions.
The Ice-Age castle facility Schlossberg is the largest and most important fortification of the Lausitz culture, as far as it is currently known. The 27 m high observation tower on the legendary castle hill, a wall facility from ancient and early history, was built from 1915 to 1917. The Bismarck tower offers a wide view of the unique Spreewald landscape. The tower is a relic of the Bismarck monument movement. Today, the Bismarck tower is a popular destination for outings as the symbol of the spa town Burg in the Spreewald.
JAM MANUFACTURE - ROSENROT & FEENGRÜN
Under the poetic name "Rosenrot & Feengrün – The jam manufacturer", a wonderful small company from Burg has been active for a decade now. Luck in the glass "Small but great!" is true about this Spreewald jam manufacture as well. With great love for detail and regional fruit only, Andrea Veltjens produces wonders of good taste
ALPAKA WANDERUNGEN | WIESEN FÜHRUNGEN | ALPAKA FARM SHOP | FOTO SAFARI | AUSZEITEN in der NATUR |
Wir unternehmen geführte Wanderungen in Begleitung unserer bezaubernden Alpaka-Familie mitten in die mystische Lagunenlandschaft des UNESCO Biosphärenreservates Spreewald. Die Anwesenheit der Tiere mit ihrem ruhigen Wesen hat eine positive Wirkung auf uns Menschen. So werden Sie oft auch „Delfine der Weide“ genannt.
CASTLE AND PARK OF LÜBBENAU
The castle with its associated park is the oldest park of the town of Lübbenau. Archaeological digs brought out tools from the Mesolithic. Objects from the bronze and iron ages were found here as well. Today, the castle district has a large park with old trees and artificial ponds. Lovers of nature can admire red beeches, tulip trees, swamp oak and swamp cypresses when hiking in the park. The castle of the counts of Lynar is visible from afar. It holds a 4-star hotel. The castle was given its current appearance between 1817 and 1839. There are some historically valuable buildings across from the castle. A hike through the park can be recommended in any season.
The last property in Burg Dorf with an irregular farm, dating from 1744, holds the "Pottery on 16 boulders". Ceramics are produced traditionally on the pottery wheel here, and completed in the outdoor wood furnace. In the show workshop, you can watch the master at work and purchase ceramics objects from her.
CLOG MAKER KAROLCZAK
In the family-owned workshop that was founded in 1909, the third generation is now producing clogs in Burg. Watch the master at work in a rustic show workshop and learn many funny anecdotes about clogs. You can also purchase clogs here.
Old and young guests may participate in various creative offers every day. Designing your own window hanging or glass decoration in melt technique are just a few examples.
SPREEWALD MUSEUM LÜBBENAU
The Spreewald museum is located in the gate house at the Topfmarkt. Before the gate house was turned a museum, it used to be the city hall, royal district court, jail and police station in turn. The three-floor brick building invites you to an exciting time travel through Spreewald history. Learn about the life of people in their "Pusch" as well as about crafts, trade and development of tourism and industrialisation. Also learn why the gate is decorated by the jaw of a whale.
The attachment is the museum's new attraction, housing the Spreewaldbahn (steam engine 99 57 03) on top of each other.